UK River Prize

2022 Winners Announced!

Find out more




In 2014 the Inaugural England River Prize was awarded at the River Restoration Centre's (RRC's) Annual Network Conference. After the success of 2014, the prize was expanded to include Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland, under the new name of the UK River Prize.

Each year the winner receives the Nigel Holmes Trophy (right). Named after a friend and colleague who did so much for restoration, the award looks to inspire and celebrate innovation and best practice in river restoration and catchment management.

From 2020 we added a reach-scale award focusing on smaller scale projects.


Previous Winners and Runners up
UK River Prize 2021
River Keekle Restoration, Cumbria
UK River Prize 2020
Reach-scale award - Allt Lorgy Catchment-scale award - Rivers Test & Itchen
UK River Prize 2019 UK River Prize 2018
New Forest Wetlands Hills to Levels, Somerset
UK River Prize 2017 UK River Prize 2016
River Avon Restoration Project Rivers Eden, Derwent and Kent
UK River Prize 2015 England River Prize 2014
River Tweed River Wensum

You can find out about all of the Winners and Runners Up here >>