News for: Riverprize

New Zealand beats Australia to win Australasia Riverprize

Thursday, November 15, 2018

The Whangawehi Stream (New Zealand) won this year's Bert and Vera Thiess Australasia Riverprize.

Under a community-led catchment management plan, the Whangawehi Catchment Management Group has been helping farmers manage pests and revegetate the river margins, resulting in the establishment of 160,000 native trees, 60ha of riparian margins and the retirement of a 10ha of native bush block.

Asia and Australasia Riverprize finalists announced

Tuesday, September 18, 2018

This years’ Asia Riverprize finalists are the Pasig River (Philippines) and the Yangtze River (China).

This years’ Bert and Vera Thiess Australasia Riverprize finalists are Whangawehi Stream (New Zealand), Laidley Creek (Australia) and the Parramatta River (Australia). Also highly commended are the Oven and Kings River (Australia) and Yarra River (Australia).

Mur wins European Riverprize

Tuesday, November 18, 2014

This year’s IRF European Riverprize was awarded to the Austrian stretch of the Mur. The €25,000 prize was given at the Riverprize Gala Dinner at Vienna City Hall on Tuesday 28th October. The project has successfully restored natural processes and habitats along 22km of the river. Following its European success the Mur will now be entered into the Thiess International Riverprize 2015.

Subscribe to News for: Riverprize